PHS Students Honored with "Students Rock" Award
Posted on 05/20/2019
students receiving an award Plainville High School students JoAnna Salmon and Michael Torres have been named recipients of the second semester “Students Rock Award” recognizing their outstanding contributions to Plainville High School.
In seeking a way to honor students who “do the right thing every day,” the Plainville High School Mentoring Committee, comprised of high school faculty members and led by fellow faculty member Maria Colangelo, created the Students Rock Award during the 2009-10 school year. According to the nomination guidelines created by the committee, students to be considered for the award must assume responsibility for their behavior, contribute to the school and community, and appreciate the benefits of a physically, emotionally and socially healthy lifestyle. Plainville High School faculty and staff members nominate students and vote to determine those selected for the award. “I can’t think of two more deserving students than JoAnna and Michael. They are humble, intelligent, kind and selfless. Both seniors, I am confident that they will make a positive impact in the world beyond Plainville High School. It has been a pleasure having them as part of our high school the past four years,” said Colangelo.
Jo Anna, Michael and their families were honored on May15th at a high school faculty meeting, where faculty members Eileen Hebert and Sandi Dowsett read staff comments about the winners and presented them with their awards.
“This is one of the best awards at PHS. Being selected by our teachers for this award due to the impact you have had on our school culture is a testament to the strength of these students’ character. They truly represent what we hope for from all of our students at PHS,” said Plainville High School Principal, Carl Johnson.
“I was so impressed with the heartfelt tributes that our teachers wrote about these special students. They are both very deserving of this special honor,” noted Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Maureen Brummett.