Plainville Students Honored at 32nd Annual Superintendent’s Award Presentation
Posted on 11/05/2019
superintendent lepage with capss awarded students  Fourteen Plainville students received the Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents’ (CAPSS) Superintendent / Student Recognition Award and Certificate of Excellence at the 32nd annual Superintendent’s Award Presentation held on November 1st, during a luncheon at J. Timothy’s Restaurant.
The students are: Darren Paznokas and Lillian Wieczorek, Linden Street School; Nolan Cooke, Hayden Cooney and Evangeline Molloy, Louis Toffolon School; Chase Beausoleil and Kaitlyn Landry, Frank T. Wheeler School; Nicole Caruso and Zoe Weimer, the Middle School of Plainville; and Allie Chambrello, Phoebe Gediman, Christopher St. Lawrence, Vanessa Xiques, and Helena Yawin, Plainville High School.
his award is given during American Education Week to students who have been nominated by their teachers and chosen by their principal. Criteria for recognition of excellence include community service and service to others, academic prowess relative to ability, leadership service to the school community, and other unique qualities.
"This award ceremony is a wonderful, time-honored tradition in Plainville. I feel fortunate to have this opportunity to express my congratulations and appreciation for these outstanding students and their families. While we have so many outstanding students in Plainville, these students rose to the top in earning this distinction. Student success at such high levels is a tribute to these students’ character and abilities. When such student qualities combine with high quality school programs and staff, in partnership with caring families, limitless positive outcomes result," said Superintendent of Schools, Steven LePage.